FAQ's

Drive With confidence

We Have Great Answers

First, The student must obtain a Permit from the DMV. This is done in one of two ways. The first way is the student will take a test in school, and if they pass, they will simply go to the DMV to get the actual permit (the school is not authorized to give them the actual permit). By law, the student may only go to the DMV (to get the permit) with a driving school. If the student has not taken the written test in school, or has failed it, they may go take a written test at the DMV, but they too may only go with a driving school. We service Freehold, Eatontown, and Toms River DMV agencies for all permit transactions and tests. PLEASE note that some high school teachers in NJ have been caught soliciting students to sign up with their driving school. It is obviously illegal as well as unethical to have a teacher solicit business for their own driving school during class. They may not solicit or hand out application cards / fliers for their own driving school. If you see such behavior in your school, please call Skillful driving School or the board of education to report it. Each student and their parent should be given the right to choose the driving school which is right for them without being subjected to pressure and strong arm tactics from these few corrupt teachers.

The Point Reduction Course may be taken once every five years to remove points, and every 3 years for insurance.

You can contact the NJ State Department of Motor Vehicles at 609-292-6500 or visit them on the web at http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/

Lessons are given strictly on a one-on-one basis. Our driving school never pairs people up for lessons. We have found that while some students may have an easy time mastering certain techniques and maneuvers, such as k-turns and parallel parking, others may find the same techniques difficult. While one student may be ready to go on to another lesson, the other student might need more practice before moving on. Additionally, it can be very distracting having multiple students in the car. In our opinion, although many other driving schools do pair up students in the car, a driving school which has multiple students in a car for a lesson is neither professional nor safe.

No, not at this time.  They have recently changed their hours.

First, it is recommended that you read the DMV guidebook thoroughly. You may obtain one at any local MVC agency.  Alternately, you can access the manual online at www.njmvc.gov .  by either calling us at (732) 363-0410, or by visiting a DMV agency. Next, you may want to take a look at our New Jersey (NJ) DMV (MVC) free sample online permit test question test page.

Although the State of New Jersey requires all 16 year olds to take 6 hours of behind the wheel training, every student is different. We do not “push” or sell extra lessons unnecessarily. However, we feel strongly that since this is a once in a lifetime investment , one should not start driving on their own until they feel comfortable with their control of a vehicle, as well as with the rules of the road. Additionally, we always try to infuse a sense of confidence in our students while also imparting defensive driving skills and techniques. Our instructors are trained to gear all students toward that goal, and to recognize when a student is ready to go out on their own.

You may either visit your local MVC agency, call them at 609-292-6500, or visit their website at www.njmvc.gov.  Otherwise, if you would like to cancel your appointment, you just don’t show up. When you are ready to reschedule, you must go down to the DMV, call, or go online and schedule your test. If you are one of our students, we can usually take your permit to the DMV to reschedule it for you, or schedule it for you online.

Absolutely. In fact, we encourage this mode of transportation to the road test. There are a few reasons for this. First of all, if you have taken lessons with us, you will already be comfortable driving our vehicles. Additionally, going with your instructor will instill confidence, and will allow him/her to give you some helpful last minute tips.  All of our vehicles are up to date on insurance, registration and inspection. We have the legally required red stickers on all of our vehicles. If you do not have the stickers, your test will be denied. Additionally, all of our vehicles are equipped with a dual control braking system, thus making the brakes accessible to the examiner (one of the criteria of taking your road test). At Skillful Driving School, we use Eatontown and Miller air park testing facilities for our road test services.

A vehicle which has up to date registration, insurance and inspection, has an emergency brake which is accessible to the instructor, has the legally required red stickers (kyleighs law) and is overall considered to be a safe and clean vehicle is generally acceptable for use for a road test. You must bring your permit, along with the identification you used to get your permit (such as your birth certificate, passport, and if applicable, such as a non US citizen, US green card and social security card etc.) to the road test. The driver who accompanies you to the road test must have their license with them.

Many, if not most insurance companies give a significant reduction in auto insurance rates if the insured has completed 6 hours of behind the wheel training at a state certified driving school. We provide a certificate for all students who have completed their 6 hours of behind the wheel training with us.

Of course there is no guarantee, however, we have found that the end and very beginning of each month is particularly crowded. This is because people typically come in at that time to renew licenses and other documents, which expire at the end of the month. The best hours of the day are usually 8:00 a.m. to 11:45 a.m.

We service Ocean and Monmouth Counties. Following is a partial list of places we service: Asbury, Bayville, Beachwood, Belmar, Berkeley, Brick, Brielle, Deal, Dover, Eatontown, Elberon, Farmingdale, Forked River, Freehold, Howell, Jackson, Lacey, Lanoka Harbor, Lakewood, Lakehurst, Long Branch, Manalapan, Manasquan, Manchester, Marlboro, Millstone, Neptune, New Egypt, Perrineville, Plumsted, Point pleasant, Ramtown, Seaside heights, South Toms River, Toms River, Tuckerton, Wall, West Long Branch. For a complete list, you may contact us via email (info@skillfuldrivingschool.com), or at (732) 363-0410.

Included in the fee for each lesson is our door to door service. This means that we will pick you up from your home, office, or school, and at the end of the lesson, drop you off at the destination of your choice.

Do you want to learn more or speak to a representative?

Drive With Confidence